Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

Students Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Students who are new PTK members standing on stairs in a group


Congratulations to the 58 students who are the newest members of the College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society, inducted into PTK during a special candlelight ceremony on Nov. 8. They exemplify leadership and service and have all achieved an impressive 3.65 or higher GPA. PTK is the international honor society of students attending open-access institutions and seeking associate degrees, bachelor’s degrees, or other college credentials.

“I take tremendous pride in congratulating all of the students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, an impressive achievement which recognizes their hard work and the commitment they have made to themselves and to their education,” said Dr. Steady Moono, College President. “They are outstanding representatives of SUNY Schenectady who will go on to do great things.”

Parmesh Thakoordial speaking at podium to audience in Van Curler Room

Alumni Speaker during this special evening was Parmesh Thakoordial, who is President of the College’s chapter of PTK. Parmesh graduated in May 2023 with his degree in Science and is pursuing his bachelor’s degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University at Albany. Jennifer Malave is Vice President of the College’s PTK chapter. She graduated in 2021 with her degree in Human Services. Jennifer is currently pursuing her bachelor’s degree in Political Science at the University at Albany. Amat Baraeya, Nutrition major and Ambassador for the Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program, is Secretary of PTK. 

Dr. Steady Moono, College President, and Dr. Mark Meachem, Vice President for Academic Affairs, also addressed the students, their families, friends, and College faculty and staff, congratulating the new PTK members and all of their vision supporters. 

Students seated in Van Curler Room

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inductees:

Sosuke Aizawa                      
Ayden Budhoo                      
Amarianna Canteen             
Riley Carlone                      
Nicolo Cochetti                      
Andrew Craner                     
Siobhan Cummings               
Alexandra Desing                 
Belena Dianand                     
Kerry Downey
Joan Eason
Karley Enright
Melody Francis
Raymond Franco
William Gayne
Hemmattie Gobind
Varsha Gopilall       
Em Gordon 
Nicole Gray    
Annelise Hammer    
Betty Hassinger
Aya Hminat      
Alexander Jerusalemski    
Anne Jones  
Soham Kapila     
Desiree Larrivee-Stone  
Alexandre Lumbala   
Jasmatie Lutawan                                                                            
Miranda Martino
Kalan Mayhue                               
Maureen Mbanga
Kenneth Morris
Melahat McQueeney
Samuel Nava
Jaime Noble
Nana Orumwense                  
My’Asia Page                         
Stacy Parent                           
Benjamin Pauli                      
Christine Praetz                     
Amos Prince                           
Krystal Ragubir                      
Jessabelle Lee Railine             
Noelle Relyea                         
Melody Roper                                                                                                
Bryan Rosales Elias 
Stani Saldana  
Andrea Schaffer
Jubilee Schmid
David Scotto 
Jenna Semione 
Micahra Semper
Deviyani Singh    
Mathis Sule     
Rehena Ulla 
Alana Weber 
Olivia Wilkerson      
Charles Williams       

Thank you to PTK Advisors Dr. Lorena Harris, Director of C-the STEP Program in the Division of Math, Science, Technology and Health, and Dr. Babette Faehmel, Professor in the Division of Liberal Arts, Dr. Hope Sasway, Dean of the Division of Math, Science, Technology and Health, and the SUNY Schenectady Foundation.