30 August 2019

Foundation Presents Scholarships During Honors Convocation 2019

Our students have goals they want to achieve and dreams they are pursuing, as they attend SUNY Schenectady and grow both as students and as individuals. They are shaped not only intellectually in their chosen academic program, but outside of the classroom by our faculty and staff who serve as mentors and by all of those individuals who they meet along the way who inspire them and serve as their “vision supporters.” Among those vision supporters are our donors whose generosity makes it possible for the SUNY Schenectady Foundation to provide students with important scholarships.

Recently, during Honors Convocation 2019, the Foundation presented more than $230,000 in scholarships to 203 of the College’s most deserving students. Jamie Flora, Chair of the Foundation Board of Directors, said, “The Foundation is committed to cultivating scholarships to support our students and their academic achievements, and I thank all of our amazing donors for making this possible.”

Dr. Steady Moono, College President, congratulated all of the scholarship recipients at the ceremony, which took place on Aug. 28, 2019, at Rivers Casino and Resort. “It is a high academic honor to be selected for a scholarship,” he said. “Each of you has dedicated a great deal of time and effort toward pursuing and earning your degree, and for that I commend you.”

As the College ushers in its 50th anniversary year, Ann Fleming Brown, Chair of the Board of Trustees, noted that our students are the central part of this celebration. “Soon the College will kick off its 50th anniversary year with events that highlight our five academic divisions, and lay the groundwork for the next 50 years,” she said. “Students are an important part of this milestone!"

Recipient of the A Place for Jazz Scholarship with donor

Paula S. Marshman, Co-Chair of the Program Committee for the Women’s Fund of the Capital Region (center), with scholarship recipients Rookmin Churaman, Jessica Beauchemin, Bambi Langlois and Nkeiru Ubadike.

Recipient of Scholarship with donor

Samuel Pierre-Michel, recipient of the A Place for Jazz Scholarship, with Brett Wery, Dean of the School of Music, and Tim Coakley, from A Place for Jazz.

More photos. 


Theme picker